EUmies Awards About
EUmies Awards


The European Union Prize for Contemporary Architecture | Mies van der Rohe Awards (EUmies Awards), founded in 1988 in Barcelona by Fundació Mies van der Rohe and the European Union’s programme to support the cultural and creative sectors, are annual awards recognizing excellence in built works of architecture in Europe (Architecture and Emerging) and final diploma works by recently graduated architects (Young Talent).

The EUmies Awards Architecture and Emerging categories take place on odd-numbered years, in turn with the Young Talent category that takes place on even-numbered years. Following the ceremonies, the results of the jury discussions and decisions are thoroughly disseminated worldwide through exhibitions, debates, publications, on-site visits and documentaries on each edition and also on different topics such as housing, waterfronts or territorial scopes, through the use of the archive and collection that has been built since 1988.

The EUmies Awards count with the Architects’ Council of Europe (ACE) and the European Association for Architectural Education (EAAE) as key institutional partners and World Architects as strategic partner.



Architecture is envisaged in a holistic sense, evaluating how Europe rethinks the way habitats are designed and managed taking into account its people, history, geography, climate change, pollution, global political economy, digitalisation, demographic explosion, limited natural resources and wellbeing.

Besides identifying these works through a network of people and institutions, the EUmies Awards disseminate the contributions and potentials of these places, becoming a platform that brings together experts, jury members, practitioners, students, faculty, clients, policy makers, decision-makers and citizens into an essential dialogue about why architecture matters to everybody. The result is a rich array of outputs: engaging events and symposia, attractive and instructive exhibitions, and globally recognized publications which share where we stand and how we point to the future.

These outputs are only the beginning and the EUmies Awards lay groundwork for these discussions to continue growing in other platforms and channels, contributing to a greater understanding of how architecture impacts the complex and challenging world we live in.

Creative Europe

Creative Europe invests in actions that reinforce cultural diversity and respond to the needs and challenges of the cultural and creative sectors. The main objectives of the programme are to safeguard, develop and promote European cultural and linguistic diversity and heritage increase the competitiveness and economic potential of the cultural and creative sectors, in particular the audiovisual sector.


Fundació Mies van der Rohe

The Fundació Mies van der Rohe was set up in 1983 by the Barcelona City Hall with the initial purpose of reconstructing the German Pavilion, designed by Ludwig Mies van der Rohe and Lilly Reich for the 1929 Barcelona International Exhibition. Besides conserving and disseminating knowledge about the Mies van der Rohe Pavilion, the Fundació today also fosters debate on and awareness of themes related to contemporary architecture and urban planning.


Architects’ Council of Europe

The Architects’ Council of Europe is a non-profit organization founded in Treviso (Italy) on 11 May 1990 by the merger of the former Liaison Committee of the Architects of the United Europe (CLAEU) and the former Council of European Architects (CEA).


European Association for Architectural Education

The European Association for Architectural Education is an international, membership-based Association organizing architectural schools in Europe. Membership is not limited to countries that belong to the European Union, all European countries may participate. The EAAE is a non-profit, Belgian registered organization.