EUmies Awards Committee of Honour
EUmies Awards

Committee of Honour

Mariya Gabriel

European Commissioner for Innovation, Research, Culture, Education and Youth

Responsible for European Union policies related to Creative Europe, Horizon Europe, research and innovation, the Erasmus+ programme, education, culture and sport.

Janet Sanz

Second Deputy Mayor, Area of Ecology, Urban Planning, Infrastructure and Mobility and President of the Fundació Mies van der Rohe

She has focused on the elaboration and development of urban and environmental policies and most of her associative activity has been dedicated to the youth and feminist movement.

Sabine Verheyen

Member of the European Parliament, Chairwoman of the Committee on Culture and Education

German architect and politician who has been serving as a Member of the European Parliament since 2009. In 2020, she joined the Special Committee on Foreign Interference in all Democratic Processes in the European Union.

Themis Christophidou

Director-General for Education, Youth, Sport and Culture – European Commission

Civil engineer with 35 years of experience in private and public sector management who joined the European Commission in 2001 and has held various positions, including in the Directorate-General for Regional and Urban Policy.

Ruth Schagemann

President of the Architects’ Council of Europe (ACE)

Architect who founded VICEVERSA Architektur + Medien together with her husband. She was elected member of the executive board of the Architects` Council of Europe (ACE) from 2016 until 2021, Coordinator of the European Network of Architects` Competent Authorities (ENACA), member of the Coordination Group Europe of the Federal Chamber of German Architects and is head of department of national and international professional policy at the Chamber of Baden-Württemberg.

Oya Atalay

President of the European Association for Architectural Education

Architect, architectural historian and academician. She is Professor of Architecture and the Dean and managing director of the School of Architecture, Design and Civil Engineering at ZHAW Zurich University of Applied Sciences in Winterthur, Switzerland. Her teaching covers the theory and history of architecture as well as design studio. She has taught architecture and construction, urban design and architecture theory at Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute Troy NY, at Bilkent University Ankara, and at ETH Zurich.